Collection of Mathematical Instruments

Mathematical Instruments

Introduction

Before elctronic devices and computers were developed, mechanical tools, namely drafting instruments, slide rules and planimeters, were widely-used during the daily practice of engineers and carthographers. Among these relatively simple instruments, there existed many different and expensive devices for special purposes, e.g. momentum planimeters, coordinatographs or integraphs. Although these tools look very cumbersome from today's perspective, they significantly facilitated engineering work at that time. As electronic devices and computers emerged during the second half of the 20. century, the importance of mechanical drafting and calculating instruments declined more and more. Today, these instruments have completely disappeared from the professional routine of engineers and cartographers.

Content

This collection documents the development and production of mathematical instruments in Switzerland. During industrialization in the 19th century, Swiss makers played a substantial part in the development and improvement of such instruments. Leading makers were the company Kern in Aarau, which became well known with the production of drafting instruments, Jakob Amsler in Schaffhouse und Gottlieb Coradi in Zurich. Until the end of the 19th century, the products of these companies were much in demand due to their high quality and precision.

On the different pages, you find a lot of information on instruments and makers, many original documents for download as well as an image gallery. Please note that many of the pages are not yet available in English. Just switch to the German version to have access to the information. Enjoy browsing around!

Contact

In order to complete my collection, I always buy special instruments or original documents of Swiss makers of mathematical instruments. Of course, any information or comments on these pages or on the shown objects are very appreciated.

Contact form

Sammlung Mathematischer Instrumente

Mathematische Instrumente

Einleitung

Bis zur Entwicklung des Computers waren mechanische Hilfmittel im Berufsleben der Ingenieure und Kartographen weit verbreitet, allen voran Reisszeuge, Rechenschieber und Planimeter. Neben diesen verhältnismässig einfachen Instrumenten gab es teure Spezialgeräte wie Momentenplanimeter, Koordinatographen oder Integraphen. Obwohl all diese Geräte aus heutiger Sicht reichlich umständlich anmuten, haben sie damals die Arbeit in vielen Bereichen erleichtert. Erst mit dem Aufkommen von elektronischen Geräten und Computern in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts ging die Bedeutung mechanischer Zeichen- und Recheninstrumente zusehends zurück. Heute sind solche Instrumente vollständig aus dem Berufsalltag der Ingenieure und Karthographen verschwunden.

Inhalt

Die vorliegende Sammlung dokumentiert die Entwicklung und Herstellung mathematischer Instrumente in der Schweiz. Während der Industrialisierung im 19. Jahrhundert waren Schweizer Manufakturen massgeblich an der Entwicklung und Perfektionierung solcher Geräte beteiligt. Führend waren neben der Firma Kern in Aarau, welche mit der Herstellung von Reisszeugen bekannt wurde, vor allem Jakob Amsler in Schaffhausen und Gottlieb Coradi in Zürich. Bis gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts waren die Produkte dieser Unternehmen weltweit wegen ihrer Qualität und Präzision gefragt.

Auf den verschiedenen Seiten finden sich Informationen zu den Instrumenten und Herstellern, viele Originaldokumente zum Herunterladen sowie eine Fotogalerie. Viel Spass bei Herumstöbern.

Kontakt

Zur Ergänzung der Sammlung kaufe ich gerne spezielle Instrumente oder Originaldokumente von Schweizer Herstellern mathematischer Instrumente. Zudem freue ich mich auch über Kommentare und Hinweise zu diesen Seiten oder zu den gezeigten Instrumenten.

Kontaktformular